MEETING OF THE ITHACA TOWN BOARD Monday, November 13, 2017

<u>TB Resolution 2017 - 129: Authorization to join an Article 78 Proceeding against the New</u> <u>York State Department of Environmental Conservation to require Environmental Review</u> <u>fo the Cargill Salt Mine Expansion</u>

Whereas, the Town of Ithaca obtains drinking water from Cayuga Lake via the Southern Cayuga Lake Intermunicipal Water Commission, and

Whereas, the NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) has issued the Cargill Salt Mine a permit to construct Shaft #4 which will connect to Cargill's ongoing salt mining operations under Cayuga Lake, with such permit issuance being based on a potentially improper "segmented" environmental review which treats shaft construction and ongoing salt mining as independent, unrelated activities; and

Whereas, both the shaft construction and the ongoing salt mining have potential significant adverse impacts that have not been properly reviewed under the NYS State Environmental Quality Review Act (SEQRA); and

Whereas, many of these unreviewed potential significant adverse impacts involve local water resources, including the waters of Cayuga Lake; and

Whereas, some of the unreviewed potential significant adverse impacts involve gradual sagging or other loss of mechanical integrity of rock layers above the mine; and

Whereas, the 1994 collapse of the Retsof Salt Mine in Livingston County provides an example of various significant adverse impacts and some of the factors implicated in a major salt mine collapse; and

Whereas, these and other potential significant adverse impacts on the environment should be subject to an environmental impact statement process under SEQRA; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the Town Board of the Town of Ithaca agrees to join in an Article 78 proceeding to require an environmental impact statement process under SEQRA, provided there is no cost to the Town to do so; and be it further

Resolved, that a copy of this resolution be forwarded by the Ithaca Town Clerk to Governor Andrew Cuomo, NYS DEC Commissioner Basil Seggos, State Senator Thomas O'Mara and Assemblywoman Barbara Lifton.

Moved: Tee-Ann Hunter Seconded: Rod Howe Vote: Ayes – Hunter, Howe, Leary, Levine, DePaolo, Bleiwas and Goodman